Exhibition

36 rue de Seine
27.0631.07.2008
Project Room
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Hotel California

Exhibition view « Hôtel California »
Galerie GP & N Vallois, Paris
27.06 — 31.07.2008
© All rights reserved

Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

From Richard Jackson, born in 1939, to Martin Kersels, born in 1960 – not to mention Mike Kelley, Allen Rup- persberg, Jim Shaw, Spandau Parks, and Paul McCarthy- these Californians have defined, and undeniably continue to define one of the most important and most active contemporary art scenes of our time.
Their refusal to subscribe to trends in the art market or to play by the rules, non-conformity, mixing of medias (painting, sculpture, performance), and a mounted offensive against conventional standards in Amercian so- ciety have allowed them to escape the formalities inherent in the market… Much to the delight and benefit of some courageous collectors and young galleries in the early nineties. One finds it hard to imagine that in the mid-nineties they were considered to be young artists.
In May 1994, during the initial years of the gallery, we produced Paul McCarthy’s first solo show in France, establishing ties with other Californian artists of his generation. Nearly fifteen years later, we are still collabo- rating with their students – namely, Mike Bouchet and Adam Janes. For this reason, it seemed important for us to highlight this golden generation of artists that played such a fundamental role in shaping the identity of the gallery.
In a way, one could even say the collection of works selected for «Hotel California» maps this evolutionary journey :
Skinny Bear is the most radical example of McCarthy’s ‘giant toys’ created between 1992 and 1994. Series of five or six works, each different and unique, these giant stuffed animals- both ironic and monstrous- literally ‘toy’ with our archetypal childhood emotions of amusement and fear.
Skinny Bear, standing on a wooden table with one sinister-looking arm (the unfortunate fate of the artist’s model?) hanging from beneath its lifeless fur coat, could easily pass as a leftover prop from one of McCarthy’s performances.
Big Baby by Richard Jackson is the latest installment of The Dining Room, a pictorial orgy shown in the gallery in June 2007, which parodies the American notion of a family dinner.
The baby, tiniest member of the family, has been enlarged to colossal size, becoming a maniac painting machine.
All of the pieces in the show explore American society through rather abstruse analogy. Two magnificient works from the series Alteration by Allen Ruppersberg are no different. On a pair of canvases -one white, one blue- positioned face to face, Ruppersberg extracts the social customs inherent in American society from the subtext of a dressmaker’s order book dating from the 1950’s. The original and the facsimile both integral to this work co-exist on a plane that operates as much in the world of art as that of fashion.
Jim Shaw’s Left Behind # 3 is probably one of the most successful paintings from his tarp series. Adapting an immense backdrop of Dodger Stadium from the sceneshop of a 1930’s-era theater, Shaw has re-invented this spectacle by substituting a row of bicycles covered in precious stones that run over a sequence of funerary markers memorializing the names that dug the grave for Communism. Here the two worlds of cartoons and Craft Art collide to form a political vision of a fallen America.
Martin Kersels comes to us from the world of musical performance. His massive physical proportions asso- ciated to a dancer suppleness have allowed him to integrate the grotesque and the excessive in his choreo- graphies. Podium for an idiot conductor is exactly what it claims to be: a podium built for the conductor of an orchestra of idiots. The costumes and miscellany of props- whips, bells, and ping-pong racquets- seem as incongruous as they are necessary for a symphony played by twenty or so musicians, which actually took place at the gallery during the 2005 show «Orchestra for Idiots».
Mike Kelley’s Series of ten Banners from 1989 are exceptionally distinct in the way they integrate symbology. Each banner by this emblematic artist of the Californian scene, given either its subject or its signature, is an icon, representing the style of the artist and the language of «Californians».
And last but not least, Spandau Parks the « outsider », the « loner », cited as much as if not more often than the other artists of this exhibition is the contemporary of Paul McCarthy. Parks has progressively painted on the same twenty canvases day by day for the past twenty-five years. The layering of the paint gives his work a sculptural quality that forms reliefs while also creating relentless, undefinable forms. The details from pho- tographs taken of the actual paintings were presented by the gallery in 2004 and are included in this show. These are the only witnesses to his profound and fanatical work.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Exposition

36 rue de Seine
27.0631.07.2008
Project Room
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Hotel California

Vue de l’exposition « Hôtel California »
Galerie GP & N Vallois, Paris
27.06 — 31.07.2008
© D.R.

Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
Hotel California - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Depuis Richard Jackson, né en 1939, jusqu’à Martin Kersels, né en 1960, en passant par Mike Kelley, Allen Ruppersberg, Jim Shaw, Spandau Parks et Paul McCarthy, les artistes californiens continuent indéniable- ment à définir l’une des scènes artistiques contemporaines les plus importantes et les plus vivantes de notre époque.
Le refus d’un modèle lié au marché, l’impertinence, l’absence de conformisme, le mélange des genres (pein- ture, sculpture, performance), les attaques féroces en règle contre les standards de la société américaine ont permis à ces artistes d’échapper au formatage inhérent au marché… pour le plus grand bonheur de quelques collectionneurs courageux et de quelques jeunes galeries au début des années 90.
On peine à imaginer que ces artistes étaient encore considérés comme des jeunes plasticiens jusqu’au milieu de cette même décennie.
C’est ainsi que notre galerie débutante a pu réaliser la première exposition de Paul McCarthy en mai 1994 et que, de cette expérience, sont nées des relations avec la plupart des artistes californiens de cette génération. Près de 15 ans plus tard, et alors que notre galerie travaille avec certains étudiants de ces artistes (tels Adam Janes ou Mike Bouchet), il nous a semblé important de proposer un point de vue sur cette génération dorée qui a participé à notre identité.
L’ensemble des oeuvres sélectionnées fait écho à notre parcours.
La sculpture de Paul McCarthy, Skinny Bear est l’exemple le plus radical des jouets géants réalisés par l’artiste entre 1992 et 1994, série de cinq à six oeuvres toutes différentes et uniques qui mettent en scène des peluches géantes dévoyées, faisant de ces archétypes enfantins des formes à la fois ironiques et mons- trueuses.
Skinny Bear est posé sur une vieille table abîmée, son bras décharné semble être arraché d’un vieux manne- quin traînant dans l’atelier de l’artiste, la fourrure sans corps lui donne l’apparence d’une dépouille très proche d’un objet de performance dont il aurait pu être issu.
Big Baby de Richard Jackson est la dernière émanation de la Dining Room exposée en juin 2007 dans notre galerie qui parodiait un dîner familial américain en orgie picturale.
Le bébé, plus petit élément de la famille, a grandi de manière démesurée et, comme beaucoup de sujets de Richard Jackson, est devenu une infernale machine à peindre.
Les deux magnifiques oeuvres de la série Alteration d’Allen Ruppersberg explorent à nouveau la société américaine au travers d’analogies entre le carnet de commande d’un couturier des années 50 et les habitu- des sociales dont elles témoignent.
Le carnet de commande se déploie sur une toile blanche alors que son double s’affiche sur une grande toile bleue ; l’original et la copie finissent par se côtoyer tant dans le monde de l’art que dans celui de la mode. De Jim Shaw, Left Behind #3 est probablement l’une des plus abouties de la série des grandes bâches. Sur une immense toile issue d’un décor de théâtre des années 30 représentant le Dodger Stadium, l’artiste a remplacé le spectacle par une succession de pierres tombales aux noms des fossoyeurs du communisme et une rangée de bicyclettes recouvertes de pierres précieuses. Univers du cartoon et Arts populaires se mêlent ici pour donner une vision très politique d’une Amérique déchue.
Martin Kersels vient de l’univers de la performance musicale. Ses proportions physiques colossales asso- ciées à une grande souplesse lui permettent d’intégrer grotesque et démesure dans ses chorégraphies. L’oeuvre présentée est une scène, celle du chef d’orchestre pour les idiots (Podium for an idiot conductor) avec son costume et ses divers accessoires (raquettes de ping-pong, fouet, cloche, etc) aussi incongrus que nécessaires pour la symphonie de « basse-cour » jouée par une vingtaine de musiciens « bruitistes » lors de l’exposition « Orchestra for Idiots » à la galerie en 2005.
Les dix bannières de Mike Kelley de 1989, artiste emblématique, seront exceptionnellement visibles dans leur version intégrale. Chacune, par son sujet, sa signature, est une icône, un signe fort de l’univers de l’artiste et du langage californien.
Enfin, Spandau Parks, l’ « outsider », « l’être à part » cité en tant que tel par les autres artistes est le contem- porain de Paul McCarthy. Depuis 25 ans, Spandau Parks est entouré des vingt mêmes toiles qu’il peint cha- que jour sans relâche. La matière et les objets accumulés finissent par former des reliefs, des formes indé- finissables. Seules les photographies des détails que la galerie présentait en 2004 et exposées aujourd’hui, sont les témoignages de cette œuvre profonde et radicale.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com