Peybak

IR

Born in 1984 in Iran
Lives and works in Iran

Peybak’s painting is a trip. A visual, pictorial, chromatic, time travel. Everyone is free to make the trip, to embark for these “Abrakanian territories”, created by the young Iranian duet, and to consent to be amazed. Once agreed upon, the trip can begin. Guaranteed, gyratory, and colourful.
It started when Peyman Barabdi and Babak Alebrahim Dehkordi, two thirty something who met at the Tehran art school in 2000, decided to transform their friendship into an aesthetic and artistic adventure. Then came a desire to create their own world, a melting pot of cultures, identities, and plural histories. This became Abrakan, the fruit of long four-handed painting sessions, with loud (rock) music, in a remote studio in the mountains, an hour drive from the capital. A trip, as we said.
Always in large formats, the result is a series of atemporal works, where the gesture’s energy competes with the stroke’s precision, where the same gets confused with the unique, chaos with order. With Peybak, contraries attract so much each other, so much that you’d think that their paintings are magnets. What are they really showing us? What can we see in this new series of quasi mescalinian drawings, that once again combine vortex and sex, organic and cosmic, eastern and western? Is it the beginning or the end of a trashing world on the canvas and paper? Is it heaven or hell? Centre or periphery? Both, they say, or rather an in-between, in short “the flare of the chaos in Abrakan”.

Barbara Soyer


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Peybak

IR

Nés en 1984 en Iran
Vivent et travaillent à Téhéran (Iran)

La peinture de Peybak est un trip. Visuel, pictural, chromatique, temporel. Libre à chacun de faire le voyage, de se laisser embarquer sur les « terres abrakiennes » de ce duo de jeunes artistes iraniens, et de consentir à en prendre plein les yeux. La chose énoncée, le trip peut commencer. Garanti, giratoire, coloré.
À l’origine, il y a Peyman Barabadi et Babak Alebrahim Dehkordi, deux trentenaires qui se rencontrent à l’école d’art de Téhéran en 2000 et décident de transformer leur amitié en aventure esthétique et artistique. Puis vient le désir d’inventer un monde, le leur, creuset de cultures, d’identités et d’histoires plurielles. Ce sera Abrakan, fruit de longues sessions de peinture à quatre mains, musique (rock) à fond, dans un atelier coupé du monde, en pleine montagne, à une heure de route de la capitale. Un trip, on vous dit.
Le résultat : une série d’œuvres intemporelles, toujours de très grand format, où l’énergie du geste le dispute à la précision du trait, où le même se confond avec l’unique et le chaos avec l’ordre. Les contraires s’attirent irrésistiblement chez Peybak. À croire que leurs toiles sont aimantées. Que nous montrent-ils au juste ? Que voit-on dans leurs peintures et dessins quasi mescaliniens qui font rimer vortex avec sexe, organique avec cosmique, oriental avec occidental ? Est-ce le début ou la fin d’un monde qui s’agite sur la toile et le papier ? L’enfer ou le paradis ? Le centre ou la périphérie ? Les deux à la fois répondent-ils, ou plutôt l’entre-deux, soit « l’éclat du désordre d’Abrakan ».

Barbara Soyer


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com