A new perceptive approach to the real.

- – Pierre Restany (1960)

Since its opening in September 1990, Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois has specialised in the research and collection of a rigorous selection of historic works by the Nouveaux Réalistes.

Nouveau Réalisme has never been a movement unified in style. For some, it is just a circumstantial grouping of artists whose existence was infinitely short. For others, there was not even a group but a sort of philosophy about art and its legacy still carries on today. […] Just as in Yves Klein’s oeuvre where his taste for practical jokes and his quest for the sublime are intermingled, multiple and contradictory ways of expression meet under the Nouveau Realist movement, which translate better than any single line of thought a strong wish from this generation of artists to re-think everything, to re-invent everything using the context and material of their time. […] Created by artists whose alliance is mainly based on a desire to fight the sclerosis induced by the structures of their time and to offer an alternative as joyful as possible to the submissive academism in the ways of expression – may it be painting or sculpture – , these objects, these works, these images do not fall under any global definition, and are not imprisoned in any dogma.

- – Catherine Francblin (1997)

On Thursday 27th October 1960 was signed the Constitutive Declaration of Nouveau Réalisme by Arman, Dufrêne, Hains, Klein, Tinguely, Villeglé and Restany in Yves Klein’s apartment. These artists were joined by César, Christo, Gérard Deschamps, Martial Raysse, Mimmo Rotella, Niki de Saint Phalle and Daniel Spoerri. Although this movement had a very short lifespan – Arman believed it lasted roughly 20 minutes, others consider the premature death of Yves Klein in June 1962 as the end of the movement – its influence and its importance still live on, as can testify the numerous collective and individual retrospectives dedicated to these artists in the most important national museums.

A lot more than a “group” and a lot better than a “style”, the European Nouveau Réalisme now appears to be an open trend.

- – Pierre Restany (1963)

Today, we consider that the Nouveau Réalisme movement consists of thirteen members:
Arman
César
Christo
Gérard Deschamps
François Dufrêne
Raymond Hains
Yves Klein
Martial Raysse
Mimmo Rotella
Niki de Saint Phalle
Daniel Spoerri
Jean Tinguely
Jacques Villeglé

The gallery finds it interesting to compare their work with that of Jean-Pierre Raynaud and Alain Jacquet.

We should not be afraid to say it, Nouveau Réalisme was on many levels in advance compared to Pop Art, less entrenched in style disputes, less attached to the notion of authorship, sometimes more audacious in the composition, but most of all it carried a less ambiguous political project.

- – Nicolas Bourriaud (2005)

In addition to the permanent collection of works by this movement in the gallery, Georges Phillippe & Nathalie Vallois have regularly dedicated large exhibitions regarding the members of Nouveau Réalisme.

Thus in September – October 1991, the gallery presents the Bétons (1970-1974) by Arman. These works have only been shown once before by the M.A.M.V.P. (Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris) in 1976. Then, in April – May 1995, the gallery showed the Accumulations Renault, works created by Arman during his collaboration with Renault between 1967 and 1969. These works had never been presented in a gallery; they were shown only in 1970 at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs and at the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam. For the third exhibition of this artist, the gallery held an exhibition in June – July 2000, Fragmentations, where in one installation created for the gallery space, Arman revived the « cuts » dating back from the beginning of the 1960s. In January 2006, the gallery decided to dedicate a tribute to the recently passed away artist and presented the exhibition No Comment.

In January 2010, the first major retrospective in a gallery is organised for the artist François Dufrêne, Sur les Dessous. It is accompanied by a publication prefaced by Aude Bodet.

Since 1999, the gallery represents one of the members of Nouveau Réalisme: Jacques Villeglé. A programme of twelve exhibitions each accompanied by a catalogue edited by the gallery has been initiated, based on the twelve themes of the Catalogue Raisonné of the artist. Today, seven categories have been explored: Mots, Images, Sans Lettre Sans Figure, Politiques, La Lettre Lacérée, the Petits Formats and the Peinture dans la Non Peinture. In June 2014, we present the Political Graffiti series, an exhibition also accompanied by a catalogue prefaced by Alfred Pacquement and Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr. Next to this series, we also present Brassaï’s Graffiti, whose wandering and collecting in the streets were very similar to Jacques Villeglé’s attitude. We also re-activate this year the Pénélope project, first presented on our booth at Art Basel 2012, the archives of an experimental film project in collaboration with Raymond Hains and Jacques Villeglé.

Since 2011, we represent the estates of Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely. Similar to the work we have been doing with Jacques Villeglé for fifteen years now, our wish is to re-discover the great diversity of the work of these two artists through a cycle of exhibitions exploring the different phases of their oeuvre, in a thematic and chronological manner. For each exhibition, a catalogue prefaced by a critic or curator wishing to partake in the promotion of Nouveau Réalisme artists will be published.

In 2012, the first monograph dedicated to Jean Tinguely, published for our exhibition, put forth the “méta-reliefs” and “méta-matics” (from 1955 to 1961), some of which had not been shown for nearly fifty years. This pivotal period in the artist’s work marks his arrival in Paris and his participation in the exhibitions Bewogen Beweging at the Stedeljik Museum in Amsterdam and in Rörelse i konsten at the Moderna Museet in Stockholm. Bernard Blistène gave us on this occasion a beautiful text entitled “Jean Tinguely en reliefs”.

For Niki de Saint Phalle in 2013, the exhibition En joue ! is dedicated to the years during which the artist went from assemblages to shooting-paintings (in-between 1958 to 1964), retracing this short but decisive period of her work when she joined the Nouveaux Réalistes groupe. It is also during this period that she had a solo exhibition, Feu à volonté, at galerie J, attended by Leo Castelli, Jasper Johns and Bob Rauschenberg, which sparked off her international career. The exhibition catalogue is prefaced by Catherine Francblin, author of a biography of the artist published the same year by Hazan, by Michelle Grabner, co-curator of the 2014 Whitney Biennial, and by Dr Nobis, curator at the Sprengel Museum. Exceptionally, the gallery obtained that the exhibition travel to Hannover from January to April 2014 to be exhibited at the Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte, a private foundation.

Finally, gallery Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois now represents since 2014 the estate of Alain Jacquet. His first exhibition is in preparation for 2015.

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323

Nouvelle approche perceptive du réel.

- – Pierre Restany (1960)

Depuis son ouverture en septembre 1990, la Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois s’est spécialisée dans la recherche et la proposition d’une sélection rigoureuse d’œuvres historiques du Nouveau Réalisme.

Le Nouveau Réalisme n’a jamais été un mouvement unifié par le style. Pour certains, il n’est qu’un regroupement circonstanciel d’artistes et son existence fut infiniment courte. Pour d’autres, il n’a même pas été un groupe mais une sorte de philosophie de l’art et son histoire se poursuit encore de nos jours. (…) De la même manière que se conjugue dans l’œuvre d’Yves Klein le goût du canular et l’aspiration au sublime, se croisent au sein du Nouveau Réalisme des expressions multiples et contradictoires qui traduisent, mieux que ne le ferait une ligne unique de pensée, la volonté farouche d’une génération d’artistes de tout repenser, de tout réinventer à l’aune des données nouvelles de leur époque. (…) Produits par des artistes dont l’alliance repose avant tout sur le désir de combattre les structures sclérosantes de leur temps et d’offrir une alternative aussi joyeuse que possible à l’académisme de l’expression soumise au métier – qu’il soit celui du peintre ou du sculpteur -, ces objets, ces œuvres, ces images n’ont agréé aucune définition globale, et ne sont captifs d’aucun dogme.

- – Catherine Francblin (1997)

Le jeudi 27 octobre 1960 fut signée la Déclaration constitutive du Nouveau Réalisme par Arman, Dufrêne, Hains, Klein, Tinguely, Villeglé et Restany réunis dans l’appartement d’Yves Klein. A ces artistes se sont ensuite ajoutés César, Christo, Gérard Deschamps, Martial Raysse, Mimmo Rotella, Niki de Saint Phalle et Daniel Spoerri. Bien qu’ayant eu une durée de vie très courte – certains comme Arman parlent d’une vingtaine de minutes, d’autres considèrent la mort prématurée d’Yves Klein en juin 1962 comme la fin du mouvement – son influence et son importance perdurent, comme en témoignent les nombreuses rétrospectives collectives et individuelles consacrées à ces artistes dans les plus grands musées nationaux.

Beaucoup plus qu’un ‘groupe’ et beaucoup mieux qu’un ‘style’, le Nouveau Réalisme européen apparaît maintenant comme une tendance ouverte.

- – Pierre Restany (1963)

Aujourd’hui, on considère que le Nouveau Réalisme comporte treize membres :
Arman
César
Christo
Gérard Deschamps
François Dufrêne
Raymond Hains
Yves Klein
Martial Raysse
Mimmo Rotella
Niki de Saint Phalle
Daniel Spoerri
Jean Tinguely
Jacques Villeglé

À ces artistes, la galerie trouve également intéressant de confronter le travail de Jean-Pierre Raynaud et Alain Jacquet.

Il ne faut pas avoir peur de le dire, le Nouveau Réalisme fut sur bien des points en avance sur le Pop Art, moins engoncé dans des affaires de style, moins attaché à la notion d’auteur, parfois plus audacieux dans la composition, mais surtout porteur d’un projet politique moins ambigu.

- – Nicolas Bourriaud (2005)

Outre la présentation permanente d’œuvres de ce mouvement à la galerie, Georges-Philippe et Nathalie Vallois ont régulièrement consacré de grandes expositions à divers membres du Nouveau Réalisme.

Ainsi, en septembre – octobre 1991, la galerie présente les Bétons (1970-1974) d’Arman. Ces œuvres n’ont été présentées qu’une seule fois auparavant par le M.A.M.V.P. (Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris) en 1976. Puis, en avril – mai 1995, la galerie montre les Accumulations Renault, réalisées par Arman lors de sa collaboration avec l’entreprise automobile entre 1967 et 1969. Ces oeuvres n'avaient jamais été montrées en galerie, elles ne furent exposées qu'en 1970 au Musée des Arts Décoratifs et au Stedelijk Museum d'Amsterdam. Pour la troisième exposition de l’artiste, la galerie présente en juin – juillet 2000 l’exposition Fragmentations où, dans une installation réalisée pour l’espace de la galerie, Arman renoue avec les « coupes » du début des années 60. En janvier 2006, la galerie décide de consacrer un hommage à l’artiste récemment décédé et présente l’exposition No Comment.

En janvier 2010, la première grande rétrospective en galerie de François Dufrêne est organisée, Sur les Dessous. Elle est accompagnée d'une publication préfacée par Aude Bodet.

Depuis 1999, la galerie représente l’un des membres du Nouveau Réalisme de façon permanente : Jacques Villeglé. Un programme de douze expositions accompagnées de catalogues édités par la galerie a été mis en place, reprenant les douze thèmes du Catalogue Raisonné de l’artiste. À ce jour, sept catégories ont été explorées : Mots, Images, Sans Lettre Sans Figure, Politiques, La Lettre Lacérée, les Petits Formats et la Peinture dans la Non Peinture. En juin 2014, nous présentons la série des Graffiti Politiques, exposition également accompagnée d’un catalogue préfacé par Alfred Pacquement et Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr. En regard de ce travail sont présentés les Graffiti de Brassaï dont la démarche de déambulation et de collecte dans les rues de Paris était très similaire à celle de Jacques Villeglé. Nous réactivons également cette année le projet Pénélope, présenté sur notre stand de Bâle en 2012, projet de film expérimental en collaboration avec Raymond Hains et Jacques Villeglé, que nous présentons à la galerie.

Depuis 2011, nous représentons les successions de Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely. A l’instar du travail que nous réalisons avec Jacques Villeglé depuis quinze ans, la volonté de la galerie est de faire re-découvrir l’extrême diversité du travail de ces deux artistes à travers un cycle d’expositions qui exploreront les différentes séries dans leur travail de façon thématique et chronologique. Chaque exposition s’accompagnera d’un catalogue préfacé par une personnalité du monde de l’art à chaque fois décidée à participer à sa valorisation.

En 2012, la première monographie consacrée à Jean Tinguely, à l’occasion de notre exposition, met l’accent sur les méta-reliefs et méta-matics (entre 1955 et 1961), certains étant montrés pour la première fois depuis près de 50 ans. Cette période charnière dans le travail de l’artiste marque son installation à Paris et sa participation à l’exposition Bewogen Beweging au Stedeljik Museum d’Amsterdam ainsi qu’à l’exposition Rörelse i konsten au Moderna Museet de Stockholm. Bernard Blistène nous offre à cette occasion un magnifique texte intitulé « Jean Tinguely en reliefs ».

Pour Niki de Saint Phalle en 2013, l’exposition En joue ! est consacrée aux années durant lesquelles l’artiste passe des assemblages aux tirs (entre 1958 à 1964), retraçant ainsi cette période fulgurante mais décisive de son travail durant laquelle elle intègre le groupe des Nouveaux Réalistes. C’est aussi à l’occasion de l’exposition Feu à volonté à la galerie J, en présence notamment de Léo Castelli, Jasper Johns et Bob Rauschenberg, que sa carrière internationale est lancée. Le catalogue de l’exposition est préfacé par Catherine Francblin, auteur d’une biographie de l’artiste parue la même année chez Hazan, par Michelle Grabner, co-commissaire de la Biennale du Whitney 2014, et par le Dr Nobis, conservateur au Sprengel Museum. Fait exceptionnel, la galerie obtient une itinérance pour l’exposition de janvier à avril 2014 à la Stiftung Ahlers Pro Arte, une fondation privée d’Hanovre.

Enfin, la galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois représente désormais depuis 2014 la succession d’“Alain Jacquet”:http://www.galerie-vallois.com/artistes/alain-jacquet.html. Sa première exposition est en préparation pour 2015.

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323