A Note
From Home

Exhibition

33 36 rue de Seine
02.0729.08.2020
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

With: Gilles Barbier, Julien Berthier, Julien Bismuth, Alain Bublex, Jean-François Chermann, Robert Cottingham, Taro Izumi, Richard Jackson, Adam Janes, Jean-Yves Jouannais, Mike Kelley, Martin Kersels, Paul Kos, Paul McCarthy, Jeff Mills, Peter Nagy, Arnold Odermatt, Henrique Oliveira, Peybak, Lucie Picandet, Lázaro Saavedra, Niki de Saint Phalle, Marcus Sant, Pierre Seinturier, Peter Stämpfli, Jean Tinguely, Tatiana Trouvé, Keith Tyson, Tomi Ungerer, Jacques Villeglé, Julia Wachtel, Winshluss, Virginie Yassef…

BACK TO THE FUTURE

“Where we’re going, we don’t need roads…”

DR. Emmett Brown

In 1985 the young Marty McFly helped by the extravagant Dr. Emmett L. Brown a.k.a “Doc” propelled himself 30 years earlier in order to fix some temporal paradoxes provoked by his actions in the past.

What a coincidence: we’re celebrating the 30th anniversary of the gallery this year!

The exhibition “Back to the future” offers the possibility to travel through time, from our first years of gallery to the latest artworks made by our artists during the 55 days of lockdown.

From Robert Zemeckis’s movie we don’t only borrow the title; added to a certain taste for writing and words: humor, science and fiction, adventure, invention, extra and ordinary are all approaches of Art we’re claiming since the beginning.

The fifty artworks that will be shown in our two galleries, located at 33 and 36 rue de Seine, will bring back memories of former exhibitions and precious moments that we shared with all the showcased artists.

Here is a joyful temporal and generational mix, where masterpieces of the sixties dialogue with artworks of the past decade. This artistic guideline is the gallery’s signature since its creation in September 1990 with the inaugural exhibition “Between Geometry and Gesture.”


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

A Note
From Home

Exposition

33 36 rue de Seine
02.0729.08.2020
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Avec : Gilles Barbier, Julien Berthier, Julien Bismuth, Alain Bublex, Jean-François Chermann, Robert Cottingham, Taro Izumi, Richard Jackson, Adam Janes, Jean-Yves Jouannais, Mike Kelley, Martin Kersels, Paul Kos, Paul McCarthy, Jeff Mills, Peter Nagy, Arnold Odermatt, Henrique Oliveira, Peybak, Lucie Picandet, Lázaro Saavedra, Niki de Saint Phalle, Marcus Sant, Pierre Seinturier, Peter Stämpfli, Jean Tinguely, Tatiana Trouvé, Keith Tyson, Tomi Ungerer, Jacques Villeglé, Julia Wachtel,
Winshluss, Virginie Yassef…

RETOUR VERS LE FUTUR

”Là où nous allons, nous n’avons pas besoin de route…”

Docteur Emmett Brown

En 1985 le jeune Marty McFly, aidé de l’extravagant docteur Emmett Brown alias « Doc », se propulse exactement trente ans plus tôt, pour corriger certains paradoxes temporels provoqués par ses interventions dans le passé.

Coïncidence : nous fêtons cette année nos trente ans d’activité !

L’exposition « Retour vers le futur »offre la possibilité de voyager dans le temps, depuis nos premières années de galerie jusqu’aux dernières oeuvres réalisées par les artistes durant les 55 jours de confinement.

Au film de Robert Zemeckis, nous n’empruntons pas seulement le titre ; humour, science et fiction, aventure, invention, extra et ordinaire, sont autant d’approches de l’Art que nous revendiquons depuis toujours, auxquelles s’ajoute un goût certain pour l’écriture et les mots.

La cinquantaine d’oeuvres déployée dans nos deux espaces du 33 et 36 rue de Seine, retrace autant de souvenirs d’expositions et de moments d’échange avec tous les artistes présentés.

Un joyeux mélange temporel et générationnel, où des pépites des années 60 se frottent aux oeuvres de la dernière décennie, une signature constante de la galerie depuis son ouverture en septembre 1990, avec pour titre d’exposition inaugurale « Entre la Géométrie et le Geste ».


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com