Exhibition

36 rue de Seine
10.0116.02.2019
Project Room
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Suehiro Maruo

Born on January 28, 1956 in Nagasaki Japan, Suehiro Maruo is considered as one of the masters of horror manga, especially in the genre Ero guro, or erotico- grotesque.

Largely in uenced by Japanese tradition but also by the Surrealist movement and the cinema of Juan Luis Buñuel or Fritz Lang, his work is distinguished by a very aesthetic style where we encounter the frozen seduction of the new German Objectivity (from Christian Schad to Otto Dix).

He will regularly lean on crime novels to the particularly strange and macabre world of Hasegawa Kaitarô and Edogawa Ranpo for his most famous works of which we will present a set of original storyboards.

According to Jean Giraud, aka Moebius, « Maruo is the total incandescence of sexual anger, the destructive will, the call for the permanent help of a tortured child, in a look full of compassion but at the same time blinded by a terrible rage ».


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Exposition

36 rue de Seine
10.0116.02.2019
Project Room
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Suehiro Maruo

Suehiro Maruo, né le 28 janvier 1956 à Nagasaki au Japon, est considéré comme l’un des maîtres du manga d’horreur, en particulier dans le genre Eroguro, ou érotico-grotesque.

Largement in uencé par la tradition japonaise mais également par le surréalisme et le cinéma de Juan Luis Buñuel ou Fritz Lang, il se distingue par un style très esthétisant ou l’on retrouve la séduction glacée de la nouvelle objectivité allemande (de Christian Schad à Otto Dix).

Il s’appuiera régulièrement sur les romans policiers à l’univers particulièrement étrange et macabre de Hasegawa Kaitarô et Edogawa Ranpo pour ses ouvrages les plus célèbres dont nous présentons un ensemble de planches originales.

Selon Jean Giraud, alias Moebius, « Maruo est l’incandescence totale de la colère sexuelle, de la volonté destructrice, de l’appel au secours permanent d’un enfant torturé, dans un regard plein de compassion mais en même temps aveuglé par une rage terrible. »


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com