Exhibition

36 rue de Seine
26.0427.05.2018
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Pilar Albarracín, Pat Andrea, Hans Bellmer, VALIE EXPORT, Claude Gilli, Michel Journiac, Annette Messager, Jeff Mills, Jules Pascin, Françoise Pétrovich, Francis Picabia, Maria Isabel Rueda, Niki de Saint Phalle, Cindy Sherman, Jacques Villeglé & Julia Wachtel

La Maman et la Putain

©Aurélien Mole

La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

The title « The Mother and the Whore », is taken from Jean Eustache’s film, a huge scandal when it came out in Cannes in 1973. The exhibition brings together the work of sixteen artists, from 1910 to the present day, both women artists and men artists, a variety of techniques and stereotypes of « feminine » images, the better to play, cross and go beyond « close-mindedness » and simplistic clichés.

We begin by going back in time to 1910, with a drawing of naked, sensuous women that Jules Pascin was so fond of, but also — and this is a lesser known side of the artist — three other watercolours of « almost » ordinary scenes of family life, parents and children united in boredom. Francis Picabia’s 1949 drawing, « La Joie de vivre », of a man’s erection before a women carrying her child, is emblematic in itself of the second principal subject of the exhibition: desire, also sketched with open legs by Hans Bellmer in the early 60s. Around the same time, Niki de Saint Phalle confiscated her children’s toys and covered them in plaster, to sculpt Doctor Frankenstein’s « loaded » heart.

A few years later, the lace in the garter belt of « Lady Sings the Blues », an imposing black woman over two metres tall, does little to soften the brutality of Billy Holiday’s life, to whom she pays homage here. At the opposite end of the scale is its contemporary, Claude Gilli’s « La Nonne Joyeuse » (1965); a smooth, colourful image of pop icons. It is the woman the day after May ’68 that Michel Journiac portrays in his series « 24H de la vie d’une femme ordinaire » from 1974.

Dressed up in drag, striking a pose, we are no less distracted from the persistent clichés of the fairer sex of that time. VALIE EXPORT’s black and white photographs look lifted from a Nouvelle Vague film, whose heroine – the artist herself – questions herself, hides, tells a story of “forms” far removed from any fantasy. Modern pornographic sites might well have their origins in the French precursor to the internet, the pink telephone-operated Minitel of the 80s.

Jacques Villeglé took posters of the women « plying » the walls of the city, coupled with their emblematic 3615. It was not a prostitution of the body, however, but of the images that would continue to unfurl in the following decades. Sexy images of pop singer star Cher might come in multiples in Julia Wachtel’s large painting « You Disappear Me », but she gives way to aragged hastily-drawn pirate, straight out of an ordinary American postcard.

Cindy Sherman alone might embody all the images, questions and evolutions of the subject of our preoccupations, and the photograph « Mère Noël » from 1990 is a discrete but humorous marker of her presence. We might have begun with one of the most liberated and activist women of this exhibition: Josephine Baker, who, as early as the start of the 20th century did a frenzied enactment of her « enslavement » for the racists crowds of her era. In « The Dancer », Jeff Mills captured all of the energy and contemporanaety of the icon on this film. And on that subject; married a dozen times, Josephine Baker was never a biological mother, but she adopted many children of different origins, not only to satisfy her maternal desires, but also as a mark of her struggle against racism.

The exotic references in « Jane », one of the last sculptures of Françoise Pétrovitch, appears to offer a static counterpoint to the film of Josephine Baker. Made of an unexpected mixture of bronze, cement and plants, this feminine subject recalls a classical sculpture, not without contrast with its primitive features. The Colombian artist Maria Isabel Rueda carries us along with the poetic, fantastical ramblings of her cartoon, inspired by the atmosphere of certain horror films blended with a tropical environment where theplatitudes of the savage and the « civilised » rub shoulders.

Annette Messager sets up the unlikely meeting of a heeled shoe with a snail, the two « fetishes » melt and mate in a dark material to give the sculpture a highly « appealing » appearance. The Dutch artist Pat Andrea has used a similarly dreamlike repertoire since the 60s, building his work around the dismembered images of women, a « (de)construction » that he has pursued obsessively in his paintings and drawings, the heroines in constant action in their phantasmagorical universe for mysterious reasons. Through his videos (« Tortilla a la Española » and « Furor Latino ») and his photographs, Pilar Albaracín finally brings together many of the key words of this exhibition: Beauty, Cliché, Desire, Fantasy, Femininity, Humor, Maternity, Pornography, Sensuality, Stereotype, Violence…

At a time when the status of women remains the subject of violent but necessary debate, the « Mother » and the « Whore » exhibition is an opportunity to remove the constraints of these words and associate them with the strength of the works and images offered here.

“«The Mother and the Whore», in 2018, one must dare! Dare to say that fantasies resist regardless the evolutions of society. Dare to say that the lm of Jean Eustache, The mother and the whore (1973) is not unsurpassable. Dare to say that artists make fun of social compartments and would have probably never thought of being associated with each other, besides under this title. Dare to say that each artist taken individually does not illustrate neither the mother nor the whore, but the whole that creates this exhibition makes us think only about this: fantasy is everywhere, the desire reigns: sassy, funny, tragic, subversive, surprising, settled as well. For men as for women -in parity here as it should be noted -, woman never stops being an object of desire constantly renewed.” Caroline Eliacheff


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Exposition

36 rue de Seine
26.0427.05.2018
Galerie Vallois
33 - 36 rue de Seine
Paris 75006 France

Pilar Albarracín, Pat Andrea, Hans Bellmer, VALIE EXPORT, Claude Gilli, Michel Journiac, Annette Messager, Jeff Mills, Jules Pascin, Françoise Pétrovich, Francis Picabia, Maria Isabel Rueda, Niki de Saint Phalle, Cindy Sherman, Jacques Villeglé & Julia Wachtel

La Maman et la Putain

La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois
La Maman et la Putain - Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Le titre « La Maman et la Putain » est emprunté à celui du film de Jean Eustache qui fit grand scandale à Cannes lors de sa sortie en 1973. L’exposition réunit les œuvres de seize artistes, de 1910 à nos jours, autant d’artistes femmes que d’hommes, autant de techniques, autant de stéréotypes d’images « féminines » pour mieux jouer, traverser, dépasser les « enfermements » et des clichés réducteurs.

C’est avec un dessin de 1910 de quelques femmes nues et lascives chères à Jules Pascin que nous commençons à remonter le temps, mais aussi — et l’on connaît moins cet aspect de l’artiste — avec trois autres aquarelles de scènes « presque » ordinaires de la vie de famille où l’ennui semble réunir parents et enfants. « La Joie de vivre », dessin de Francis Picabia de 1949, présentant l’érection d’un homme devant une femme portant son enfant, incarne à lui seul l’autre sujet principal de l’exposition : le désir, tout comme les crayonnés de jambes ouvertes de Hans Bellmer du début des années 60. A la même période, Niki de Saint Phalle confisque les jouets de ses enfants pour les recouvrir de plâtre et sculpter le cœur «chargé » du Docteur Frankenstein.

Quelques années plus tard, la dentelle du porte- jarretelles de sa « Lady Sings the Blues », imposante femme noire de plus de deux mètres de haut, ne peut adoucir la brutalité de la vie de Billie Holiday, à laquelle l’artiste rend ici hommage. « La Nonne Joyeuse » de Claude Gilli, sa contemporaine (1965) offre quant à elle une image totalement opposée, celle lisse et colorée des icônes pop.

C’est bien l’image de la femme au lendemain de mai 68 que Michel Journiac incarne dans sa série « 24H de la vie d’une femme ordinaire » datée de 1974. Les poses et les travestissements de l’artiste nous détournent à peine des clichés persistants quant aux rôles attribués à la gente féminine de l’époque. Les photographies noir et blanc de VALIE EXPORT semblent extraites d’un film de la Nouvelle Vague, dont l’héroïne, l’artiste elle même, se questionne, se cache, raconte une histoire « de formes » éloignée de tout fantasme. L’origine des sites pornographiques actuels pourrait bien trouver sa source dans le Minitel rose des années 80. Jacques Villeglé, prélève les affiches de femmes offertes « tapinant » sur les murs de la ville assorties de leur emblématique 3615.

Mais la prostitution n’est pas que celle des corps, mais bien celle des images qui vont déferler dans les décennies suivantes. L’image sexy de la pop star Cher a beau se démultiplier dans le grand tableau de Julia Wachtel « You Disappear Me », elle finit par s’incliner au profit de celle d’un pirate déglingué et sommairement dessiné, tout droit sorti d’une banale carte postale américaine. Cindy Sherman pourrait à elle seule incarner toutes les images, les questionnements et les évolutions des sujets qui nous préoccupent ; la photographie la « Mère Noël » datant de 1990 marque discrètement et avec humour sa présence. Nous aurions pu commencer par l’une des femmes les plus libres et les plus activistes de cette exposition : Joséphine Baker, qui dès le début du 20ème siècle agite « son esclavage » de manière effrénée devant des foules racistes de l’époque. Jeff Mills a capté dans la vidéo « The Dancer » toute l’énergie et la contemporanéité de cette icône.

Pour compléter notre sujet : mariée une demi douzaine de fois, Joséphine Baker n’a jamais été mère biologique mais elle a adopté de nombreux enfants d’origines différentes, non seulement pour satisfaire son besoin de maternité, mais également pour témoigner de sa lutte contre le racisme. « Jane », l’une des dernières sculptures de Françoise Pétrovitch, semble par sa référence exotique proposer un pendant statique à la vidéo de Joséphine Baker. Faite d’un mélange inattendu de bronze, béton et plantes, ce sujet féminin évoque une sculpture classique non sans contraste avec ses traits primitifs.

Maria Isabel Rueda, artiste colombienne, nous entraine dans les dérives poétiques et fantasmées de son dessin animé, s’inspirant de l’atmosphère de certains films d’horreur mêlée à un environnement tropical où les poncifs du sauvage et du « civilisé » se côtoient. Annette Messager organise la rencontre improbable d’une chaussure à talon avec un escargot, les deux « fétiches » se fondent et s’accouplent dans une matière noire pour donner à la sculpture un aspect hautement « désirable ».

Dans un répertoire tout aussi onirique, depuis les années 60, l’artiste hollandais Pat Andrea a construit son œuvre sur les images démembrées des femmes, une « (dé) construction » qu’il poursuit de manière obsessionnelle au fil de ses tableaux, de ses dessins, dans un univers fantasmagorique où les héroïnes n’ont de cesse de s’animer pour des raisons mystérieuses. Pilar Albarracín à travers ses vidéos (« Tortilla a la Española » et « Furor Latino ») et ses photographies rassemble pour finir de nombreux mots clés de cette exposition : Beauté, Cliché, Désir, Fantasme, Féminité, Humour, Maternité, Pornographie, Sensualité, Stéréotype, Violence … Dans une époque où le statut de la femme demeure sujet à des débats violents et nécessaires, l’exposition la « Maman » et la « Putain » propose de libérer ces deux mots de leur carcan et de les accompagner de la force des œuvres et des images proposées.

« « La Maman et la Putain », en 2018, il faut oser ! Oser dire que les fantasmes ont la vie dure, quelles que soient les évolutions de la société. Oser dire que le lm de Jean Eustache, La Maman et la Putain (1973) n’est pas indépassable. Oser dire que les artistes se moquent des cases et n’auraient probablement jamais pensé à être associés entre eux et sous ce titre. Oser dire que chacun, pris individuellement n’illustre à lui seul ni la maman, ni la putain mais ensemble par la grâce de cette exposition, on ne pense qu’à ça : le fantasme est partout, le désir est roi : impertinent, drôle, tragique, subversif, surprenant, convenu aussi. Pour les hommes comme pour les femmes (ici à parité il faut le remarquer), la femme n’en nit pas d’en être l’objet sans cesse renouvelé. » Caroline Eliacheff


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com