Conversation with TARO IZUMI

Paloma Blanchet-Hidalgo / Slash magazine: In your work, the combination of technology, and the human body perceived as an ensemble of several systems, draws on new sensory spaces.

Taro Izumi: Let’s look at “Telescope” for instance. Without ever looking at the canvas, I paint a picture through spaces created by bodies. Forms are drawn randomly, helped by a video camera. And every time, it makes me feel like I’m touching the object. I use my body as a medium, similar to pigments or wood, and that I can control from afar. To me, it’s the concreteness of the work that gives it its strength, without having to linger on the concept.

In what way, in your opinion, does video reach “the internal organs of the world”?

Video is almost like a zombie: combined with my installations, it allows us to visualise a kinetic energy and to observe both a state of things and a process. It replays the same actions over and over again as to immortalise them, contrary to painting which is more like a corpse. When you make visible simultaneous actions, it triggers a bizarre effect. In other videos, I tend to render the real more abstract. It’s the case for “White Bear” in which a stone is thrown into the water and splashes a drawing, revealing a progressive erasing, a dilution of the pen stroke.

Your staging, such as "The Cultivation of a Shoes Bottom", are both playful and absurd. What is your imaginary behind the figure of the player? To what extent does it hide a social criticism?

Again what matters here in the game is not its end, but the experience and process. It’s the same in my work. The game rules highlight a tension between freedom and constraints. Concepts and laws, as precise as they may be, don’t prevent us from experimenting, from possibilities and wonder to exist, and from different interpretations to be found. This questioning around freedom of representation echoes a social experience: it works as a metaphor for my thirst for independence which is constantly confronted to the Japanese social norms.

A recent Australian exhibition was entitled “Alternating Currents – Japanese Art After March 2011”. You presented "Brave Yawn" (2011), a chaotic installation similar to "Diagonal Harvest"…

The idea for “Brave Yawn” came to me before the earthquake. But it subsequently changed my perception of the installation and this modification is interesting to me. After the recent events in Japan, people have had to face doubts that were previously inconceivable, official reports being often far from reality. It became important for me to analyse the situation under different viewpoints. If the earthquake did indeed influence my work, my aim is not to make it a national symbol, like manga or the nuclear bomb. I find it ridiculous that earthquakes and nuclear plants are used in identity strategies.

What about your next project?

I’m starting a residency in Scotland in May. Then in the Fall, I will participate in a group exhibition at the Mori Art Museum, and at the Aichi Prefectural Museum of Art in Nagoya. I’m also planning other exhibitions in Japan.

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323

Conversation with TARO IZUMI

Paloma Blanchet-Hidalgo / Slash magazine : Dans vos œuvres, l’alliance de la technologie et du corps perçu comme un ensemble de systèmes esquisse de nouveaux espaces sensoriels.

Taro Izumi : Prenons l’exemple de Telescope . Sans jamais regarder la toile, je peins un tableau à travers l’espace dessiné par des corps ; les formes sont tracées de manière aléatoire, à l’aide d’un moniteur vidéo. J’éprouve alors la sensation, récurrente dans toutes mes vidéos, de toucher l’objet. J’utilise mon corps comme un médium, au même titre que le pigment ou le bois, et je le contrôle à distance. Selon moi, c’est la dimension concrète qui donne au travail sa force, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de s’attarder sur le concept.

En quoi la vidéo touche-t-elle selon vous " les organes internes du monde ? "

La vidéo est en quelque sorte un zombie ; intégrée à mes installations, elle permet de visualiser une énergie cinétique, d’observer à la fois un état et un processus. Elle répète un même mouvement, poursuit inlassablement des actions passées pour les immortaliser, au contraire de la peinture, que je perçois comme un cadavre. Faire apparaître simultanément plusieurs actions suscite un effet d’étrangeté. Dans d’autres vidéos, je tente plutôt de rendre abstrait le réel. C’est le cas de “White Bear” : une pierre lancée dans l’eau y éclabousse un dessin, révélant un effacement progressif, une dilution du trait.

Vos mises en scène, à l’instar de "The Cultivation of a Shoe Bottom", sont aussi ludiques qu’absurdes. Quel investissement imaginaire autour de la condition de joueur ? Dissimule-t-il une critique sociale ?

Là encore, ce qui importe dans le jeu n’est pas sa finalité mais l’expérience d’un processus. Il en va de même dans mon travail ; la règle du jeu y met en évidence une tension entre liberté et contrainte. Les concepts et les lois, aussi précis soient-ils, n’empêchent pas une expérimentation, source d’étonnement et de possibles, ainsi qu’une pluralité d’interprétations. Ce questionnement autour de la liberté de représentation fait en effet écho à une expérience sociétale : il peut « métaphoriser » ma soif d’indépendance, confrontée aux normes de la société nipponne.

Une récente exposition australienne avait pour titre Alternating Currents — Japanese Art After March 2011. Vous y présentiez "Brave Yawn" (2011), installation chaotique proche de "Diagonal Harvest"…

L’idée de “Brave Yawn” m’est venue avant le séisme. Celui-ci a néanmoins changé ma perception de l’installation ; c’est cette modification qui m’intéresse. Après les évènements, les Japonais ont dû faire face à des doutes qui étaient auparavant inconcevables, les avis officiels étant souvent très éloignés de la vérité. Il m’a paru dès lors particulièrement important d’analyser la situation sous divers points de vue. Si le tremblement de terre a bel et bien influencé certains de mes travaux, je ne cherche cependant pas à en faire un symbole national, comme peuvent l’être aujourd’hui les manga ou la bombe atomique ; je trouve à la fois ridicule et gênant que le séisme ou les centrales nucléaires puissent aujourd’hui participer de stratégies identitaires.

Votre prochain projet ?

Je serai en Écosse au mois de mai pour une résidence. En automne, je participerai à une exposition collective au Mori Art Museum, justement, ainsi qu’à l’Aichi Prefectural Museum of Art de Nagoya. Je prépare également d’autres expositions au Japon.

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323