Conversation with Fredi Casco

What's the relation between the exhibition presented in our Project Room and the one which just ended in September at the Maison de l'Amérique Latine?

Operaciones y ceremonias, the title for both exhibitions, is a process which actually started at the end of 2010, when I found archive documents on flea markets in Paraguay. A first version of this project was presented in Asunción, at the Museo del Barro. At the Maison de l'Amérique Latine, and at the gallery, I worked on the same documents, the same sources, but with a different staging every time.
In this work in progress, the main identifiable elements are the military operation manuals published by the United States' army and handed out to Latin-American soldiers within the sadly famous “School of Americas” (Escuela de las Americas). It all started right after the end of the Second World War, in 1946, and corresponds also with the beginning of the Cold War.
I found these manuals in a small flea market in Asunción, Paraguay, where I live and where I have been hunting for old objects every Sunday for 15 years. However, this story of the School of Americas is very “Latin-American”: it's the story of the relation between each military dictatorship and the United States.
Paraguay was the first dictatorship openly supported by the United States. At the end of the 1950s, the other military dictatorships have had roughly the same operating modes: in Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Brazil… We now know that the United States have supported almost all the right wing and far-right wing dictatorships in Latin America.

Does this choice of documents in your work correspond to a form of archaeology which you've been practising for a long time now, or has it a political connotation from the start?

The first time I became interested in the “political image” was more or less 12 years ago when I found in a flea market a hundred photographs showing the diplomatic life and system of the dictatorship since the 1950s all the way to the 1970s. I then made my first genuine political work which was entitled “The Return of the Sorcerers”. I was also interested at the time by other types of documents, not only photographs, but also political and military discourses. Behind the hyper-technical language, the dictatorship's ideology lay hidden. When I found these military operations manuals in 2010, I was astounded by their title in Spanish and their origin: “Escuela de las Americas”.
I had already heard a lot about this “School of Americas”, but it is never mentioned in any history book! What these manuals showed were a typology of fruits and animals found in the tropical forest, different ways of constructing shelters… The images are very “technical”, they are true practical manuals on how to survive in the jungle.
Apparently, these manuals were genuine tools and not made for propaganda. When fascist governments practise propaganda, they use a real “propagandist graphic design”. Here, it looks more like an “anti-graphic design”! Therefore I wanted to provide them with a graphic design which corresponded to their true nature, to give images what they needed in a sense.

This is where the word "Killing" intervenes, this very graphic logo/title of a magazine verging on pornography, and which has seemingly nothing to do with the main topic here!

Killing is an Italian Magazine, but at the end of the 1960s, and even more in the 1970s, there was an explosion of erotic magazines in Latin America, from the richest, like Play Boy, to more popular ones. Among the trashiest of these was Killing, which became very famous over time, not just because of its pop aesthetics with its particular graphic design and images, but also because of its sadomasochist content. The main protagonist is an assassin disguised as a skeleton with a mask like the ones worn by Mexican wrestlers.
I wanted to construct a dialogue between this very popular cult of the death in Latin America (found in Mexico and all the way to Argentina) with very technical images of military operations.

You like to play with different levels of dialogue between texts and images, but also with their overlapping over time...

Killing and the images and photographs from these manuals are concomitant. I try to introduce another level of dialogue with the current events: here I present two landscapes from the manuals of Operaciones en la selva, partly covered with struggle writings by a guerrillero from Paraguay. The guerrilla still exists but its discourse seems completely anachronistic today, and they are almost always associated with drug cartels!
In Paraguay, there were no strong guerrilleros movements, like the ones in Colombia, Peru or Argentina in the 1960s-70s and 1980s. The dictatorship in Paraguay came before the Cuban revolution. The last dictator, Stroessner, stayed in power for 35 years, from 1954 to 1989, and he got rid of all forms of opposition.
Only long after the end of the dictatorship in 1989, did leftist movements start to appear, claiming to take up arms, using a Marxist discourse dating from the 1970s and completely anachronistic. In 2009, militaries found an operation manuscript of survival in the jungle, but written by leaders of the Paraguayan guerrillero-terrorist movement EPP (Ejército del Pueblo Paraguayo)! This manuscript found in 2009 was first published at the beginning of the 2000s although there is not much left of the jungle described in these manuals!

How could I not mention the terrorist attack against Charlie Hebdo which happened a day before the opening of your exhibition? What is the reaction of a person like you who lived half his life under a dictatorship?

What always attracted me about France was its defence of the freedom of expression. In my country, censorship was total: the press was entirely owned by the tyrannical power of the dictator; artists and intellectuals were hunted and had to flea or stay silent. If not, they were simply eliminated!
I was deeply shocked and affected by this attack against freedom of expression. In the exhibition, I talk about State terrorism, but also about the dialogues that exist today in Paraguay with terrorists/guerrilleros. I never questioned the fact of showing this series here in France, in a land where freedoms are ensured. Now I do. My perception of the exhibition and of its moment are irreparably modified by what just happened.
Will you face the same type of questions as the ones we faced during the dictatorship? I don't think so and I certainly don't hope so…

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323

Conversation with Fredi Casco

Quelle est la relation entre l’exposition que tu présentes dans le Project Room de la galerie et celle qui s’est terminée en septembre dernier à la Maison de l’Amérique Latine ?

« Operaciones y ceremonia », titre des deux expositions, est un processus qui a en fait commencé fin 2010, lorsque j’ai trouvé des documents d’archives dans les marchés aux puces du Paraguay. Une première version de ce projet a été présentée à Asunción, au Museo del Barro. À la Maison de l’Amérique latine comme à la galerie, j’ai travaillé sur les mêmes éléments, les mêmes sources, mais chaque fois avec une mise en scène différente.
Dans ce « work in progress », les éléments identifiables sont surtout les manuels d’opérations militaires de l’armée des États-Unis mis à disposition des militaires latino-américains pour la triste et célèbre « École des Amériques » (Escuelas de las Americas). Tout a commencé juste après la fin de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale, dès 1946, et correspond aussi au début de la Guerre Froide.
J’ai trouvé ces manuels dans un petit marché aux puces à Asuncion au Paraguay où je vis et où je vais fouiller tous les dimanches depuis 15 ans. Mais cette histoire de l’École des Amériques est très « latino-américaine » : elle évoque le rapport qu’ont eu toutes les dictatures militaires avec les États-Unis.
Le Paraguay a été la première dictature ouvertement soutenue par les américains.
À la fin des années 60, les autres dictatures militaires ont à peu près les mêmes modes opératoires : en Argentine, en Uruguay, au Chili, au Brésil… On sait que les États-Unis ont soutenu presque toutes les dictatures de droite et d’extrême droite en Amérique latine.

Le choix de ces documents dans ton travail correspond t-il à une forme d’archéologie que tu pratiques depuis très longtemps ou a t-il dès le départ une connotation politique ?

La première fois que je me suis intéressé à « l’image politique », c’était il y a plus ou moins 12 ans quand j’ai trouvé dans un marché aux puces, une centaine de photographies qui montraient la vie et le système de la diplomatie de la dictature depuis les années 1950 jusqu’à la fin des années 1970. J’ai alors fais mon premier travail clairement politique qui s’appelait « Le Retour des Sorciers ». Parallèlement je me suis intéressé à d’autres formes de documents, pas simplement des images photographiques mais aussi les discours politiques et militaires. Dans un langage hyper technique se cache l’idéologie de l’époque et de la dictature. Lorsqu’en 2010 j’ai trouvé cette série de manuels d’opérations militaires, j’ai été frappé par leur titre et provenance : « Escuela de las Americas ».

J’avais déjà beaucoup entendu parler de cette « École des Amériques », mais elle ne figure dans aucun livre d’histoire ! Ces manuels font la typologie des fruits et les animaux que l’on rencontre dans la forêt tropicale, les différentes façons de faire des abris, les images sont très « techniques », ce sont vraiment des manuels pratiques de survie dans la jungle.
Apparemment ces manuels étaient des outils et non de la propagande. Quand les gouvernements fascistes font de la propagande, ils utilisent un « vrai graphisme propagandiste ». Ici il s’agissait même d’un « anti graphisme » ! J’ai donc voulu les doter d’un graphisme correspondant à leur vrai nature, donner aux images ce dont elles avaient besoin en quelque sorte.

C’est là que le mot « Killing » intervient, le logo/titre très graphique de cette revue à la lisière de la pornographie qui n’a, a priori, rien à voir avec notre sujet principal !

Killing est une revue italienne à la base, mais à la fin des années 1960, et surtout dans les années 1970 il y a eu une explosion de revues érotiques des plus chics comme Play Boy aux plus populaires au Paraguay et dans toute l’Amérique latine. Parmi les plus « trash », il y avait Killing qui, avec une esthétique très pop, est devenu avec le temps une revue culte en raison de son contenu sadomaso, mais aussi par son graphisme et ses images. Le protagoniste principal est un assassin déguisé en squelette avec un masque qui rappelle un lutteur mexicain.
Ce qui m’a intéressé c’était de faire dialoguer ce culte populaire très fort de la mort en Amérique Latine du Mexique à l’Argentine avec les images très techniques des opérations militaires.

Tu joues avec différents niveaux de dialogue entre les images et les textes mais aussi avec leur superposition dans le temps …

La série Killing comme les images de manuels et les photographies sont concomitantes. J’essaye d’introduire un autre niveau de dialogue avec l’actualité : Je présente deux paysages des manuels d’Operaciones en la selva recouvert en partie des écritures « de combat » d’un groupe guérilleros au Paraguay. La Guérilla existe toujours mais son discours apparaît complétement anachronique et associé aux cartels de la drogue !
Au Paraguay, il n’y a pas eu de forts mouvements guérilleros, comme en Colombie, au Pérou ou en Argentine dans les années 60, 70 ou 80. La dictature au Paraguay est venue bien avant la révolution cubaine, le dernier dictateur Stroessner est resté au pouvoir pendant 35 ans, de 1954 à 1989, et a exterminé toute forme d’opposition.

C’est bien après la fin de la dictature (1989) que commencent à apparaître des mouvements d’extrême gauche qui parlent de prendre les armes, avec un discours marxiste des années 70 complétement anachronique. Dans l’année 2009, les militaires ont trouvé un manuscrit d’opérations de survie dans la jungle écrit par un des leaders du groupe guérillo-terroriste paraguayen E.P.P. (Ejército del Pueblo Paraguayo) ! Ce manuscrit trouvé en 2009 opère depuis le début des années 2000 alors qu’il ne reste plus grand chose de la jungle de l’époque !

Comment ne pas évoquer les attentats de Charlie Hebdo qui ont eu lieu la veille de ton vernissage à la galerie ? Quelle est la réaction d’une personne comme toi qui a passé la moitié de sa vie sous la dictature ?

Ce qui m’a toujours fortement attiré en France, c’était cette défense de la liberté d’expression. Dans mon pays, la dictature censurait tout : la presse était complètement alliée au pouvoir tyrannique d’un dictateur et les artistes, les intellectuels ont été chassés, ont dû partir en exil ou ont dû se taire. Si ils n’allaient vers aucune de ces options, alors ils étaient éliminés !
Cette attaque à la liberté d’expression me touche et me choque particulièrement. Dans l’exposition à la galerie, je parle de terrorisme d’État mais aussi de ces dialogues entre les terroristes/guérilleros qui existent aujourd’hui au Paraguay. Je ne me suis posé aucune question sur le fait de montrer cette série en France, dans une terre où les libertés sont évidentes. Mais là oui. Ma perception de l’exposition et le moment sont irrémédiablement modifiés par ce qui vient d’arriver.
Aurez-vous maintenant ici le même type de questions que celles que nous avons eu pendant la dictature ? Je ne le crois pas ni ne l’espère …

33 & 36, rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
www.galerie-vallois.com
48.856079 2.3367323