Tomi Ungerer

FR

Born in 1931 in Strasbourg (France) / Died in 2019 in Cork (Ireland)
Had worked in Strasbourg, New York, Canada, Ireland

Tomi Ungerer

1931
Jean-Thomas Ungerer, aka Tomi, is born in Strasbourg, the son of Alice and artist, historian, engineer and astronomical clock manufacturer Theodore.

1935
After the death of her husband, Madame Ungerer and her four children move to Logelbach, near Colmar.

1939-1948
In 1940, Alsace is annexed by the Germans, and Tomi undergoes Nazi indoctrination at his school in Colmar where French is forbidden then reinstated in schools in 1945. Speaking Alsation is banned at school. The War years will mark deeply his whole life and work.

1950-51
After failing the second part of the Baccalauréat exam (in a school report, his headmaster describes him as a “willfully perverse and subversive individualist”), Tomi decides to hitchhike to the North Cape. In Lapland, he crosses the Russian lines.

1952-53
He joins the Méharistes (French Camel Corps) in Algeria, but is discharged after falling seriously ill. In October 1953 he goes to the Municipal School for Decorative Arts in Strasbourg. Tomi is kindly asked to leave after one year.

1954-55
Increasingly interested in the US, he starts visiting the American Cultural Centre and befriends American Fulbright students. He travels widely across Europe (to Iceland, Norway, Yugoslavia and Greece), hitchhiking and working on cargo vessels. Between trips Tomi earns a living as a window dresser and advertising artist for local businesses.

1956
Tomi sets out for New York with 60 dollars in his pocket and what he later describes as a “trunk full of drawings and manuscripts”.

1957
He meets the children’s book editor Ursula Nordstrom at Harper and Row who publishes his first children’s book The Mellops go Flying. It is an immediate, award winning success.
He does his first advertising campaign for Burroughs machines but also collaborates with numerous magazines such as Esquire, Life, Holiday, Harper’s, Sport’s Illustrated and The New York Times.

1958 – 62
Tomi completes the Mellops series and publishes many other books for children, including Crictor, Adelaide, Emil, The Three Robbers and Rufus, which win numerous prizes, as well as satirical books like Horrible and The Underground Sketchbook. He begins a long-term collaboration with Daniel Keel of Zurich-based publisher Diogenes Verlag who has since become his main publisher.

1962
He holds his first major exhibition in Berlin where he meets Willy Brandt and Günther Grass. Tomi becomes busily engaged in the Civil Rights movement against segregation and the Vietnam War. He publishes numerous posters which are notable for their radical stance.

1966-67
(Self)Publication of The Party, a book in which Tomi expresses his aversion towards New York elite society as well as Fornicon. Tomi becomes the food editor for Playboy magazine. He rents a studio in Montreal where with Gordon Sheppard and Francois D’Allegret he created “The Wild Oats” a movie company.

1970-73
Tomi gets married to Yvonne. After a scandal linked to his erotic drawings, and fed up with the American society, they move to Nova Scotia in Canada where they start farming; an experience he later describes in Far Out isn’t Far Enough and Slow Agony. (1983)

1975
Tomi renews his links with Alsace by donating a substantial part of his work and his toy collection to the Musées de Strasbourg. He illustrates Das Grosse Liederbuch, a collection of popular German songs which sells well over a million copies.

1976
He moves permanently with his family to the Republic of Ireland.

1981
Retrospective exhibition at the Musée des Arts Decoratifs in Paris celebrates 25 years of Tomi Ungerer’s career. The exhibition moved to Munich where there were over 120,000 visitors, then to Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Dublin and the Royal Festival Hall in London where one third of the show was closed down having met with strong objections.

1990
He creates the Kultur Bank to promote Franco-German cultural exchanges. Tomi joins the interministerial board for Franco-German Relations, headed by the minister André Bord. He publishes Amnesty Animal and he is made honorary president of the European SPCA.

1991
Publication of À la Guerre Comme À La Guerre (Later published in English as Tomi, A Childhood Under the Nazis), a memoir of his experiences during World War 2 under the occupation of the Nazis.

1992-93
The American Biographical Institute lists him as one of “500 World Leaders of Influence”. He takes part in numerous humanitarian operations such as for the French Red Cross against AIDs and for Amnesty International.

1997
Publication of Flix, Tomi’s first children’s book since 1970.

1998
He is awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Prize, the most prestigious children’s literature prize.

2003
Tomi donates his private collection of over 3000 documents about fascism and its origins to the Bibliothèque Départementale du Bas Rhin.
Tomi is named Ambassador for Childhood and Education by the Council of Europe and he drafts the Declaration of Children’s Rights.

2007
Tomi donates his personal library of over 1500 volumes, which were incorporated into the Tomi Ungerer museum which opened this same year. The Tomi Ungerer Museum in Strasbourg is unique because it is the first time in French history that a government-funded museum has been established on behalf of a living artist.
A full-length animated movie of The Three Robbers comes out in Cinemas in France and Germany.

2014
Tomi is awarded one of the most distinguished honours in France, Commandeur de l’Ordre National du Mérite. This award was given in recognition of his continued lifelong struggle against prejudice using both artistic and political means.

2018
Tomi becomes Commandeur de la Légion d’Honneur.
He meets the Vallois beginning of Fall and they decide to collaborate.

His solo exhibitions include many acclaimed institutions such as the Musée d’Art Moderne et Contemporain in Strasbourg, the Wilhelm-Busch-Museum in Hanovre, the Itabashi Art Museum in Tokyo, the Stadtmuseum in Munich, the Max Ernst Museum in Brühl, the Kunsthalle Würth in Schwabisch Hall, the Drawing Center in New York, the Kunsthaus Zürich or the Folkwang Museum in Essen.

Tomi has published over 140 books which have been translated into 28 different languages, ranging from his acclaimed children’s stories to autobiographical accounts to controversial volumes of social satire and adult themes.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

A Note
From Home

Tomi Ungerer

FR

Né en 1931 à Strasbourg (France)/ Décédé en 2019 à Cork (Irlande)
Had worked in Strasbourg, New York, Canada, Ireland

Tomi Ungerer

1931
Jean-Thomas Ungerer, dit Tomi, est né à Strasbourg. Il est le fils d’Alice et de Théodore, artiste, historien, ingénieur et concepteur d’horloges astronomiques.

1935
Après la mort de son mari, Madame Ungerer et ses quatre enfants déménagent à Logelbach, près de Colmar.

1939-1948
En 1940, l’Alsace est annexée par l’Allemagne. Tomi subit un endoctrinement nazi par le biais de l’école qu’il fréquente à Colmar. Le français est alors banni, avant d’être rétabli dans les écoles en 1945. Parler alsacien est interdit à l’école. Les années de guerre marqueront profondément toute sa vie et son œuvre.

1950-51
Après avoir échoué à la deuxième partie du baccalauréat (dans un bulletin scolaire, son directeur le décrit comme un « individualiste délibérément pervers et subversif »), Tomi décide de rejoindre le Cap Nord en auto-stop. En Laponie, il franchit les lignes russes.

1952-53
Il s’engage dans le corps des méharistes (régiment de dromadaires) en Algérie, mais est réformé après être tombé gravement malade. En octobre 1953, il s’inscrit à l’École municipale des Arts décoratifs de Strasbourg. Tomi est gentiment poussé vers la sortie au bout d’un an.

1954-55
De plus en plus attiré par les États-Unis, il se met à fréquenter le Centre culturel américain et se lie d’amitié avec des étudiants Fulbright. Il effectue de nombreux voyages dans toute l’Europe (en Islande, Norvège, Yougoslavie et Grèce), en auto-stop, ou en s’engageant comme marin sur des cargos. Entre ses voyages, Tomi gagne sa vie comme étalagiste et publicitaire pour des petites entreprises.

1956
Tomi embarque pour New York avec 60 dollars en poche et ce qu’il décrira plus tard comme, « une cantine de dessins et de manuscrits ».

1957
Il fait la rencontre d’Ursula Nordstrom, l’éditrice du département pour la jeunesse de Harper & Row, qui publie son premier livre pour enfants The Mellops go flying (Les Mellops font de l’avion). Primé, l’ouvrage sera un succès immédiat. Il réalise sa première campagne publicitaire pour les machines à calculer Burroughs, mais collabore également avec de nombreux magazines tels que Esquire, Life, Holiday, Harper’s, Sport’s Illustrated et The New York Times.

1958 – 62
Tomi complète la série Mellops et publie de nombreux autres livres pour enfants, dont Crictor, Adélaïde, Emile, Les Trois Brigands et Rufus, qui remportent de nombreux prix, ainsi que des livres satiriques tels que Horrible et Les Carnets secrets de Tomi Ungerer. Il entame une collaboration à long terme avec Daniel Keel, de l’éditeur zurichois Diogenes Verlag, qui est devenu depuis son principal éditeur.

1962
Il organise sa première exposition majeure à Berlin, où il fait la rencontre de Willy Brandt et Günther Grass. Tomi s’engage activement dans le mouvement des droits civiques contre la ségrégation raciale et la guerre du Vietnam. Il publie de nombreuses affiches qui se distinguent par leur position radicale.

1966-67
Il autopublie The Party (Une soirée mondaine), une œuvre dans laquelle il exprime toute son aversion pour la société d’élite de New York, suivie de Fornicon. Tomi devient critique culinaire pour le magazine Playboy. Il loue un atelier à Montréal avec deux amis, Gordon Sheppard et François D’Allegret, et fonde avec eux une compagnie de films de cinéma, The Wild Oats (L’avoine sauvage).

1970-73
Tomi épouse Yvonne. Après un scandale lié à ses dessins érotiques, et lassés de la société américaine, ils s’installent en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Canada, où ils se lancent dans l’agriculture ; une expérience qu’il décrit plus tard dans Far Out isn’t Far Enough et Slow Agony (Lente agonie). (1983)

1975
Tomi renouvelle ses liens avec l’Alsace en faisant une importante donation de son œuvre et de sa collection de jouets aux Musées de Strasbourg. Il illustre Das Grosse Liederbuch, (le Grand Livre de chansons) une collection de chansons populaires allemandes qui se vend à plus d’un million d’exemplaires.

1976
Tomi et sa famille s’installent définitivement en Irlande.

1981
L’exposition rétrospective organisée au Musée des Arts décoratifs de Paris couronne les vingt-cinq ans de carrière de Tomi Ungerer. L’exposition se déplace à Munich, où elle attire plus de 120 000 visiteurs, puis à Düsseldorf, Hambourg, Dublin et au Royal Festival Hall de Londres, où un tiers de l’exposition est fermé au public après avoir fait l’objet de vives objections.

1990
Il crée la Kultur Bank, afin de promouvoir les échanges culturels franco-allemands. Tomi rejoint la commission interministérielle de Coopération France-Allemagne, dirigée par le ministre André Bord. Il publie Amnesty Animal et est nommé président d’honneur de la SPCA européenne.

1991
Publication de À la Guerre Comme À La Guerre (plus tard publié en anglais sous le titre Tomi, A Childhood Under the Nazis), des mémoires relatant son expérience pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale sous l’occupation nazie.

1992-93
Il est cité parmi les « 500 World Leaders of Influence » par l’American Biographical Institute. Il participe à de nombreuses opérations humanitaires, notamment pour la Croix-Rouge française contre le sida et pour Amnesty International.

1997
Publication de Flix, le premier livre pour enfants de Tomi depuis 1970.

1998
Il reçoit le prix Hans Christian Andersen, la plus haute distinction pour un auteur de livres pour enfants.

2003
Tomi fait don de sa collection privée de plus de 3 000 documents sur le fascisme et ses origines à la Bibliothèque départementale du Bas-Rhin.
Tomi est nommé ambassadeur pour l’enfance et l’éducation par le Conseil de l’Europe et rédige la Déclaration des droits de l’enfant.

2007
Tomi fait don de sa bibliothèque personnelle de plus de 1 500 volumes, intégrés au musée Tomi Ungerer qui ouvre ses portes cette même année. Le musée Tomi Ungerer de Strasbourg est unique en son genre. En effet, c’est la première fois en France qu’un musée financé par l’État est consacré à un artiste de son vivant.
Un long métrage d’animation des Trois Brigands sort en salles en France et en Allemagne.

2014
Tomi est fait Commandeur de l’ordre national du Mérite, soit l’une des distinctions honorifiques les plus prestigieuses de France. Ce prix lui est décerné en reconnaissance de la lutte qu’il mena toute sa vie contre les préjugés, par le biais de moyens artistiques et politiques.

2018
Tomi devient Commandeur de la Légion d’honneur.
Après sa rencontre avec les Vallois en début d’automne, ils décident d’entamer une collaboration.

Son œuvre a fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles dans de nombreuses institutions de renom telles que le musée d’Art moderne et contemporain de Strasbourg, le musée Wilhelm Busch de Hanovre, le musée d’Art Itabashi de Tokyo, le Stadtmuseum de Munich, le musée Max Ernst de Brühl, le Kunsthalle Würth de Schwabisch Hall, le Drawing Center à New York, le Kunsthaus Zürich ou le musée Folkwang à Essen.

Tomi a publié plus de 140 livres traduits dans 28 langues différentes, allant de ses célèbres contes pour enfants à des récits autobiographiques, en passant par des volumes controversés traitant de la satire sociale et de thèmes pour adultes.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com