Robert Cottingham

US

born 1935 in Brooklyn (New York, USA)
Lives and works in Connecticut (USA)

Robert Cottingham is from the first generation of photorealists with Chuck Close, Richard Estes and John DeAndrea, who were also exhibited from 1970 at O.K. Harris Gallery, New York.

Cottingham was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1935. He saw the beginning of consumption society and advertisement, national and individual markers of American society. The young Cottingham’s visits to Times Square with his father got him into the habit of looking up to see the colourful and increasingly bright signs. In 1947, when he was twelve and televisions were beginning to enter American homes, Cottingham had his first artistic revelation seeing Edward Hopper at the Whitney Museum of American Art (New York). This discovery would be decisive both in his career as a painter and for his artistic orientations.
Fascinated by lettering and typography, Robert Cottingham started working as art director in a New York advertising agency.

Transferred to Los Angeles, the radical change of atmosphere on the West Coast, with the huge, incessant neon lights of Hollywood, make a deep impression on Cottingham; he started painting every day after work. He used photographs initially as a reference point, taking his own amateur pictures in the city or cutting them from newspapers and magazines. Cottingham the painter of urban landscapes is already painting neon signs, facades and fronts in the colourful, structured and precise style he still has today.

In 1968, when Robert Cottingham was concentrating on drawing and painting villas in Hollywood, his work was shown in his first solo exhibitions and he subsequently decided to put an end to his advertising career in order to fully focus on his art.
In 1974-75, Robert Cottingham was awarded a grant by the National Endowment for the Arts which financed a long bus tour through 26 towns in the north-eastern United States, trip during which he took large quantities of photographs from all angles and at all times of day. This trip, amongst others, was a way of renewing his stock of images of places forgotten by modernisation

At the turn of the 1980-90’s, Robert Cottingham started taking an interest in another vernacular symbol of American modernity : trains and railroad landscapes, which he rendered in a more restrained palette of colours than his neon signs, but with a new attention to texture. It is the typography of the railway company logos that particularly fascinated the artist – will follow wheels, doors, ladders, bolts and chains of the trains themselves.

In the early 2000s still painting luminous signs from the 1930s and 1940s, the painter became interested in old typewriters and cameras, parts from industrial machines and then perfume bottles.

To this day, Cottingham’s work continues to be placed in the Photorealist sphere. His work has been exhibited all over the world and is part of major public collections such as Guggenheim, MoMA, Whitney Museum, Tate, Metropolitan Museum.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Robert Cottingham

US

Né en 1935 à Brooklyn (New York, USA)
Vit et travaille dans le Connecticut (USA)

Robert Cottingham est l’un des Hyperréalistes de la première génération, avec Chuck Close, Richard Estes et John DeAndrea, exposés tout comme lui dès 1970 à la O.K. Harris Gallery à New York.

Cottingham naît en 1935 à Brooklyn, New York. Il voit naître la société de consommation et la publicité, marqueurs de l’identité nationale et individuelle américaine. Dès son enfance, les visites de Time Square avec son père l’initient à lever le regard sur les enseignes colorées, de plus en plus lumineuses. En 1947, alors qu’il a douze ans et que les téléviseurs commencent à entrer dans de nombreux foyers américains, Cottingham vit son premier choc artistique en découvrant Edward Hopper au Whitney Museum of American Art de New York. Cette rencontre sera déterminante dans son parcours de peintre et ses choix artistiques.

Fasciné par le lettrage et la typographie, dont il saura faire usage dans son œuvre, Robert Cottingham entame sa carrière comme directeur artistique d’une agence publicitaire new-yorkaise.

Muté à Los Angeles, il est marqué par le changement radical d’atmosphère de la Côte Ouest, par les éclairages aux néons démesurés et incessants d’Hollywood ; il commence à peindre chaque jour après le travail. Il se sert de photographies, d’abord comme référence initiale, prises en autodidacte dans la ville ou trouvées dans des journaux et magazines. Cottingham, paysagiste urbain, peint déjà des enseignes lumineuses, des façades et devantures dans le style coloré, structuré et précis qui est encore le sien aujourd’hui.

En 1968, alors que Robert Cottingham concentre l’essentiel de son attention sur les Villas d’Hollywood qu’il dessine et peint, son œuvre fait l’objet de premières expositions personnelles, ce qui le décide à mettre un terme à sa carrière de publicitaire pour se consacrer entièrement à sa pratique artistique.

En 1974-1975, Robert Cottingham remporte une bourse de la National Endowment for the Arts qui lui permet de financer un long périple en bus à travers 26 villes du Nord-Est des États-Unis, voyage durant lequel il multiplie les prises de vue sous tous les angles, à toutes heures de la journée. Ce voyage, parmi d’autres, lui permettra de renouveler régulièrement son fonds d’images photographiques de lieux oubliés de la modernisation.

Au tournant des décennies 1980-1990, Robert Cottingham commence à s’intéresser à un autre motif vernaculaire de la modernité américaine : les trains et les paysages de chemins de fer, qui s’accompagnent d’une palette de couleurs moins fournie que pour les enseignes lumineuses et d’un nouveau souci du rendu des matières. Aux logos de compagnies ferroviaires qui captivent Cottingham pour leur typographie, se succéderont roues, portes, échelles, boulons et chaînes des trains.

Au début des années 2000, tout en continuant à peindre des enseignes lumineuses des années1930 et 1940, le peintre s’intéresse aux machines à écrire anciennes et aux vieux appareils photos, aux pièces mécaniques de machines industrielles, puis aux bouteilles de parfum.

Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, le travail de Cottingham continue d’être inscrit dans la sphère hyperréaliste. Son œuvre a fait l’objet de présentations en nombre partout dans le monde et fait partie des collections des plus grands musées : Guggenheim, MoMa, Whitney Museum, Tate, Metropolitan Museum, notamment.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com