Gilles Barbier

FR

Born in 1965 in Vanuatu (South Pacific)
Lives and works in Marseille (France)

Gilles Barbier arrived in France at the age of 20 and started a work he de nes as fiction. The distance he thus establishes with the « intelligence of the work » grants him great mobility, quite embarrassing for someone who wants to simplify the whole into a coherent unit.
His œuvre, comprising the rigorous copy of the dictionary as background noise, meets bodies defined as clones, “mediagenic“ spaces with bedridden superheroes, but also the “pornosphere”, the “corrected worlds”, the “Lost in the landscape” or “Hidden under the stairs”…

Attentive to the way he can associate the corpus of his work to his theoretical reflexion, his “dwelling on”, Gilles Barbier feeds texts and reflective tools into his constant ow of drawings and images. Among these tools, we can find certain types of cheese, relay batons, bananas, worms, burrows, space tubes, Vaseline, atomic bomb, cosmetic, obesity…
In the end, Gilles Barbier’s work is a forest that still needs to be cleared out due to its profusion and luxuriance. Built on a system where everything is possible and where each work is only the visible version of all its potential versions, it inhabits multiple intertwined fluxes, the design of which gures the aesthetics of consumerism and consummation.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com

Gilles Barbier

FR

Né en 1965 au Vanuatu (Pacifique Sud)
Vit et travaille à Marseille (France)

Gilles Barbier arrive en France à l’âge de vingt ans et met alors en place un travail qu’il définit comme fiction. La distance qu’il introduit ainsi avec l’« intelligence de l’œuvre » lui donne une considérable mobilité, embarrassant pour qui veut simplifier l’ensemble en une unité cohérente. Son parcours, avec la copie rigoureuse du dictionnaire comme bruit de fond, traverse des corps définis comme des clones, des espaces
« médiagéniques » avec des super héros grabataires, mais aussi, la « pornosphère », les mondes « corrigés », les « Perdu dans le Paysage » ou « Planqué dans l’atelier »… soucieux d’associer à ce corpus la rigueur de son travail théorique, son « ressassement », Gilles Barbier alimente en textes et en outils de réflexion un flux continu de dessins, d’images. Parmi ses outils, on retrouve certains fromages, des bâtons relais, des bananes, des vers de terre, des terriers, l’espace tube, la vaseline, la bombe atomique, la cosmétique, l’obésité…

Finalement, l’œuvre de Gilles Barbier est une forêt qui reste à défricher tant elle est profuse et luxuriante. Bâtie sur un système où tout est possible et où chaque pièce n’est que la version visible de toutes ses versions potentielles, elle recèle de multiples flux dont l’entrelac dessine une esthétique de la consommation, voire de la consumation.


33 36 rue de Seine
75006 Paris – FR
T.+33(0)1 46 34 61 07
F.+33(0)1 43 25 18 80
info@galerie-vallois.com